A Resolution

I’ve never been much of a believer in resolutions. They’ve always manifested as a list that stays on a sheet of paper, longing to be struck through with a confident slash — but they never get their mark.

resolution

Over a big family dinner during Christmas, my brother in-law quickly said these words in regards to nothing creative or career related:

“Comparison is the thief of joy”

I’d heard that phrase many times, but I’d never understood it or absorbed it until that night. It was something I really needed to hear.

When I’m in the middle of a project, I am joyful. Since I could hold a pencil or pen, my biggest joy has come from creating. It never feels like work. Just joy.

But when the work is done, the supplies put away I start to feel that tug of doubt. I start to look around and think, I wish I had this project or I wish I could use that technique. I think it’s something all creatives deal with, no matter what their level of knowledge or talent.

So my resolution this year is to strive for constant joy, and I think letting that phrase rest on my shoulder each day will help me strike through that one resolution.

Leave a Reply

